“We Band Of Angels” The Untold Story Of The American Women Trapped February 4 2014 6:30pm In Bataan

In the fall of 1941, the Philippines was a gardenia-scented paradise for the American Army and Navy nurses stationed there. War was as a distant rumor, life a routine of easy shifts and dinners under the stars. December 8 all of that changed, as Japanese bombs began raining down on American bases in Luzon,and this paradise became a fiery hell. Caught in the raging battle, the nurse set up fied hospitals in the jungles of Bataan and the tunnels of Corregidor, where they tended to the most devastating injuries of war and suffered the terror  of shells and shrapnel.

But the worst was yet to come, after Bataan and Corregidor fell, the nurses were herded in internment camps where they would endure three years of fear, brutality and starvation. Once liberated, they returned to an America at first celebrated them, but later refused to honor their leaders with the medals clearly deserved. Here in letters, diaries,and riveting firsthand accounts, is the story of what really happened during those dark days. woven together in a deeply affecting saga of women at war.

Hello TTT Ladie,

Please show your support on February 4, 2014 at 6:30pm, at the restaurant “Panera Bread” in Augusta, Ga

We will be discussing “We Band Of Angels” The Untold Story Of American Women Trapped On Bataan, the author is Elizabeth M. Norman

Renatta will be our facilitator.

8 thoughts on ““We Band Of Angels” The Untold Story Of The American Women Trapped February 4 2014 6:30pm In Bataan

  1. Hello, I’m new to Augusta, and I’d like to join your book discussion this month at Panera Bread. Are newcomers welcome?

    Thank you,
    Leslie

    • Hello Leslie,

      Welcome to Augusta, and you are more than welcome to join us us
      at Panera Bread this month, we have a face book page also.

      See you soon and hope you enjoy reading the book.

  2. Hello TTT Ladies,

    I have just started reading “We Band Of Angels”, It is very exciting and full of history I wonder if their story has been made into a movie? They are “silent she-roes” I
    look forward to some late nights with this” read”

    I remember when I was in high school I met a nurse who was in the Vietnam war, and she told me some of her story’s of life as a nurse, and the pain of death around her everyday. What I remember most about our conversations was that when the war was over nobody asked her what happened? or the guilt she carried when she had to choose a wounded soldier that was not critical over the one that was. She never made peace with those moments.

    My father was in the Vietnam war, I told her my father never talked about women serving in the war, I knew they were in the military, but stayed “stateside” I was over whelmed she told about these nurses who saved and gave their lives. I asked her why don’t people talk about it!!!! her response was “me to” She was really having a hard time finding a job,and was staying with one of my friends family. She was one of the most intelligent women I knew, we had countless conversations. We moved on with our lives. I lost contact, I remember going to her apartment to visit with her but she had moved away,and I never of thought of her until this book.

    Her name was Terry, I dedicate this “moment” to her a military nurse of integrity graced with sophistication.

    Terry if you are listening I hear you.

  3. Hello TTT LADIES,
    Due to the weather forecast, the book club meeting that was scheduled for January 28, 2014 6:30pm at Panera Bread has been changed to 4 February 2014 6:30pm at
    Panera Bread. We will be discussing “Band Of Angels”

    I look forward to evening of “conversation” and a good time see you soon and take extra care.

Leave a comment